Spare Change

Okay everybody, thank-you all very much for your input on these photos. I have decided to go with Option 2.

Final Selected Image

Final Selected Image

I chose this one because I feel it has the most emphasis on the coins, which were supposed to be the main subject of the photograph. For this photograph I used a softbox overhead on a boom with a strobe with barn doors in the back, right corner while I stood on a chair shooting from above. I was using a 50mm lens at f 9 with a lighting ratio of 1:1.

Diagram of my lighting set-up

Diagram of my lighting set-up

The latest assignment for Advanced Techniques was to work with a partner and shoot metal and glass. I worked with Chris Dunn (great photog-be sure to check her blog!) and I worked with the metal. I wanted to work with coins, maybe because my grandpa collected coins and maybe just because I thought they would look cool. Anyway, I talked it over with Chris and together we came up with the idea to have coins coming out of a piggy bank. After a lot of searching-it’s really freaking hard to find a piggy bank in this town!-I found one at Michael’s. After a very productive morning in the studio I’m pretty happy with the results, so happy in fact that I can’t choose which photo to turn in. That’s why I’m posting three in the hopes that you good people viewing this will help me decide. Please leave me some comments with suggestions.

Option 1

Option 1

Option 2

Option 2

Option 3

Option 3

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Spare Change

  1. Chris Dunn says:

    Laura dear, my vote’s for Option 1!

  2. Option 3. There is more reflection in the metal, which is what the assignment is about. I ran into the same problem. Rita may take points off for the metal objects you chose since it’s not a shiny smooth object like a spoon or something. I like it though.

  3. Pat says:

    number one most definitely

Leave a Reply

