Calder, revisited

It’s hard to believe that nearly two years and one month ago I was in Paris, wandering through Le Centre Pompidou staring at the whirling mobiles and striking sculptures and paintings of Alexander Calder. Today is Calder’s birthday so I thought it only fitting that I re-blog some of the photos I took that day (before security informed me photography wasn’t allowed, oops). This is a different set of photos than I posted to my Paris blog two years ago, I guess my taste has changed since then.

One of my favorite things about Calder's wire sculptures is how the shadows create a secondary piece of art.

He was so sneaky with his signature.

Calder created a circus entirely from wire and found materials, it was one of his first major projects. I loved the elephant.

The Ring Master was pretty awesome too.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

